A word from Animeswordmaster

tumblr_m1agpynpuv1r7p6m7o1_500

Hi everyone! Animeswordmaster here. It’s been a long while since you guys have probably heard from me. Well, I’m here to give you guys an update about the state of affairs at NKM48 and about myself.

NKM48:

  • We currently have a HUGE backlog that we’re trying to work our way through. However, we are changing our approach a little bit towards how we work on each episode. Therefore, we’re going to focus on the latest weekly episodes and hopefully get them out the same week that the episode airs on TV.
  • We apologize for any delays in our releases, but hopefully we can become a little more consistent now!

For me. Cue background music: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mHAjgrHBNeM

  • For the past few months, I’ve been slowly reducing my role in the group as its leader, manager, head translator, and translation checker. I’ve had a hand in almost every episode! However, I started graduate school in January for physician assistant studies (PA). Check out the video below to see what I do!
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eBTcpA7kmIU
  • Over the past two years, the other two co-founders with me, Hina and Kazu, both retired due to their real life obligations, so I’ve been the last remaining co-founder with the group. Due to the demand of my studies, I am now officially semi-retired from NKM48 and have reduced my role down to just as leader (even though it’s mostly just consulting) and translation checker. Makarin and Sakura are the co-managers, and when I fully retire, one of them will take up the helm as leader.

So, I wrote a graduation letter to the NKM48 staff, and I wanted to share a shorter version with all of you all as well.

As many of you know, NKM48 has been my baby for the past two years. I’ve really sacrificed a lot of time and effort into trying to make this group successful. Whether I’ve done that or not is up for debate, but either way, I’ve had a lot of fun meeting everyone and advancing the group to new heights. Two years is really a long time, and I wish I could continue doing this full-time, but it’s time for me to move on with my career.

I might not have made some of the best decisions for the group at times, but I always made my decisions with the group’s best interests at heart. I learned that in the end, we just can’t make everybody happy. These experiences have been as much a learning experience for me as they were for you all. Lastly, thank you all for putting up with me for so long. We started with three of us: Hina, Kazu, and me. We each had our own motives for doing this, but we started this all with the goal of wanting to give back to the community. Now, we have such a large staff that I lose count all the time for. In one of my interviews recently, the interviewer told me she checked out our website and our work. You know what she said? She said, “You guys are amazing because you do this all for free. It’s really impressive.” Doing this for free at a high quality is what distinguishes us from the others. However, in my opinion, what makes NKM48 so great is within the name. NAKAMA. We are such a close group, and that helps with this kind of work. When we first came up with the name for the group, this was our dream and vision. I’d say we fulfilled that vision pretty well. In the (paraphrased) words of Takamina: Hard work will always pay off and get rewarded in the end.

Thank you all for everything and thank you all for your understanding as I begin to move to the next step in my life.

Thank you all for the support over the years. It means more to me than you all will ever know.

Animeswordmasterより

2 thoughts on “A word from Animeswordmaster

  1. Ecchikiss February 25, 2017 / 7:41 pm

    Whenever I read translation by Animeswordmaster i knew it was going to be a good sub! Sad to see you go and thanks for all the nice quality subs and good video quality episodes. While you were always behind on episodes, NKM subs are the ones I looked forward the most personally.
    Thank you NKM team, keep this amazing work up and take your time in subbing!

    Like

  2. Pado10 February 26, 2017 / 5:26 pm

    Otsukare ~~

    Like

Leave a Reply

